About Us

The Dayton Area Chapter of PRSA consists of public relations professionals representing all facets of the industry, including corporate, non-profit, agency and independent practitioners.

The chapter offers numerous benefits to its members. Our monthly meetings feature local and national speakers addressing both strategic and tactical public relations topics. The chapter sponsors an annual professional development workshop, a bi-annual Media Day event to network with local media and holds awards events honoring the area's best communicators (Smitty Awards) and their work (PRism Awards). Also, as a service to members, the chapter provides job postings listing current public relations openings, an online membership directory and free monthly networking opportunities.

Joining the chapter can provide an excellent way to develop your professional network and continue your learning.

The Public Relations Society of America, headquartered in New York City, is the world's largest professional organization for public relations professionals, with nearly 20,000 members, organized into 117 Chapters nationwide, who represent business and industry, counseling firms, government, associations, hospitals, schools, professional services firms and nonprofit organizations.

The Dayton Area Chapter is part of the East Central District, which represents 15 chapters concentrated in six states. Our chapter has a relationship with a PRSSA chapter (the PRSA branch focused on students) at the University of Dayton.

Please feel free to review the approved bylaws.

Dayton Area Chapter History

Established Nov. 7, 1966, the Dayton/Miami Valley Chapter of PRSA was one of three chapters (Alabama, Dayton and Southern Connecticut) to be approved by the national assembly that year.

The petition to nationals requesting formation of the chapter was signed by the following: Joseph Brady, Neil Collins, Rowan Crawford, Robert Girvin, Robert Good, Carl Koehler, Eric McCarty, Maxwell Nathan, David Thompson and G.W. Young. In 1967, the board was comprised of Collins (president), Girvin (vice president), Brady (secretary), Young (treasurer) and Good (assembly delegate).

The chapter focused its efforts on serving professionals in Montgomery, Greene, Clarke and Miami counties. In July of 1967, East Central District Chair Herbert Flint visited Dayton and reported that the chapter had 18 members, potential for up to 60 members. We've surpassed that membership and continue to grow and flourish.