Who won big at the 2016 PRisms?

The Dayton Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) honored several local public relations practitioners at the annual PRism Awards Ceremony, held at the Dayton Art Institute on May 5, 2016. The prestigious PRism Award recognizes the creativity, planning and enthusiasm that go into implementing an exceptional public relations initiative. The competition is open to both PRSA members and non-members who work or live in the Dayton area. Winners earn a PRism or Award of Merit and one entry is honored with the Best in Show Award.

A panel of public relations professionals from another PRSA chapter judged the entries, which represented projects completed in 2015 based on research, planning, execution, results and support materials. Winners were selected in the following categories: community relations, marketing communications, media relations, special events & observances, websites and creative writing.

Visit our Facebook page for photos and details on each of the winners! 

PRism winners included:

  • Creative Writing
    • Nancy E. Brewer
    • Midmark Corporation (2)
    • Julie Thompson, Thompson Writing
    • Dayton Power and Light
    • Mark Pompilio, Community Blood Center
    • TriComB2B
  • Community Relations
    • City of Fairborn
    • Community Blood Center
  • Public Service
    • Dayton Children's Hospital
  • Media Relations
    • Stefanie Baker and Julie Thompson
  • Investor Relations
    • Dayton Children's Hospital
    • The Dayton Foundation
  • Special Events and Observances
    • Midmark Corporation
    • Cedarville University
    • Downtown Dayton Partnership
    • The Woman's Board of Dayton Children's Hospital
    • Caresource
    • Dayton Children's Hospital 
  • Internal Communications
    • Fahlgren Mortine with Emerson Climate Technologies
    • The Dayton Foundation
    • Cedarville University
    • Dayton Children's Hospital
  • Marketing Communications
    • Fahlgren Mortine
    • Caresource
  • Best in Show – Fahlgren Mortine; Holly Michael


Other Special Awards:

Communicator of the Year (The Smitty Award)
Each year, the Dayton Chapter PRSA presents the Smitty Award to an individual from the area who has demonstrated communications excellence. Named for the late Rex Smith, a highly regarded public relations practitioner in Dayton for more than 40 years and a former chapter member, it is awarded to a person whose community contributions have occurred in part, or in whole, because of particularly effective communications and public relations. This year's award went to Holly Michael.

Media Friend of the Year Award
The Dayton Chapter PRSA presents the Media Friend of the Year Award to a member of the local media who is invested in the success of the community and actively tries to report it. This year's award went to Mark Allan, WDTN.

Young Professional of the Year (Up & Comer Award)
The Up and Comer Award is presented to a recent college grad or young professional who stands out in the public relations field. This year's award went to Franki Meier, Dayton Children's Hospital.

Return to list


    Leave a Comment