A message from our president: Focusing on the future

I’m Susan Kaiser, Media and Communications Manager with Midmark, and your new chapter president.  I am extremely honored to move into this role and look forward to serving in 2017. The Board in 2016, under the leadership of Mark Pompilio, accomplished bringing several valuable programs to our members for education and networking, along with a successful new PRism program with a new scoring system. That scoring system was used as a guide to develop a new online awards platform offered to all PRSA chapters.

It’s an exciting time to work in Communications and Public Relations, and to be a member of the Public Relations Society of America. I was fortunate to have attended the PRSA Rally, Assembly and International Conference in Indianapolis in October. During the Assembly, Jane Dvorak, Chair of PRSA introduced a new three-year strategic plan. I had the pleasure of meeting with Jane a couple of times during the conference. She is very enthusiastic about the future of PRSA and her energy is contagious. Over the next three years, PRSA has set its goals to improve member diversity, professional development and thought leadership capabilities. You can read more about the strategic plan in an article published recently in PR Week.

I am excited about the remarkable members we have on the Dayton Area Board of Directors this year. We have a diverse group of experience and knowledge, and we have added some new positions this year to help take our chapter to the next level. Along with Mark Pompilio (Community Blood Center) as Past-President, Erin Prokes of CareSource will serve as President-Elect and Awards Co-Chair, Kim Balio-Quill (Dayton Children’s) will remain as Treasurer and Stacy Porter (Dayton Children’s) has moved into the Secretary role.

Linda Dininger (Shook Construction) and Leah Moon (Speedway LLC) will remain as Programs Co-Chairs, and continue to plan a variety of educational and fun, networking events for 2017.  

We are happy to have Jamie Kenny (Kenny Consulting Group) serve this year as Membership Chair as we focus on growing our chapter from a small to medium size chapter.

Grace Jones (Dayton Children’s) is our Communications Chair, Marketing & PR, with the support of three Vice-Chairs this year – Soteria Brown (The Dayton Foundation) will support Grace as VC, Communications; Samantha Elder (PR in Pumps) will serve as VC, Social Media and we will now have board representation for the Newsletter role as Allison Cox (Midmark Corp.) will take on the position of VC, Newsletter.

Our new Masters Chair is Lorie Woods, and Mark Weinstein (Cedarville University) will move into the new position of Sponsorship Chair. We also welcome Kelly Fritz Garrow, APR (University of Dayton) who will serve as our new PRSSA Liaison and Awards Co-Chair. In addition, Laura Woeste will continue to serve as Accreditation Chair, and currently has meetings scheduled with a group of seven who are beginning to prepare for the APR exam! Also, Bob Sadowski will continue as Ethics Officer and Patty Sorrel will represent our chapter as Assembly Delegate again this year.   

The goals of our chapter are to grow the membership, focus on meeting the needs of our members and build our partnership with PRSSA… the future of our chapter. Please share the value of PRSA with your colleagues and invite other communications professionals to an event!

We hope you will join us on January 31st at McCormick & Schmick’s for our first event of the year, as David Shank, our regional representative will speak about new things for PRSA in 2017!  

Return to list


    Leave a Comment