Local Public Relations Professionals Win Big at 2019 PRisms Award Ceremony

The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) Dayton Area Chapter celebrated public relations professionals who have been “On Top of Their Game” in the past year at the annual PRisms Awards Banquet held on May 9, 2019 at the Dayton Club. The PRism Award Ceremony is held each May to recognize the best talent in public relations throughout the Miami Valley.

"We have an amazing community of marketing and communications professionals here in Dayton and the Miami Valley," said Linda Dininger, Dayton Area Chapter president. "It's truly an honor to pause and celebrate their accomplishments."

Nine local businesses were recognized in 10 categories for their superior work in public relations, with 14 PRism Awards and five Awards of Merit given out during the evening. Businesses and individuals submit nominations for the PRisms each year. The nominations are then judged by a group of PR professionals in a sister chapter (Capital City PRSA chapter from Albany, New York was this year’s reciprocal judging chapter), who determine which entries will receive a PRism Award or an Award of Merit based on overall scoring.

The Best in Show award was given to Cedarville University in the Media Relations category for their entry “Newsroom to Expand Media Reach.”  The Cedarville University newsroom is truly a state-of-the-art endeavor, and it has allowed the University to showcase its work to the nation and the world, and to position their employees as experts in their fields far outside of the region.

Additionally, the chapter awarded four individual awards to outstanding professionals and newsmakers who are making Dayton a better place to live and work. The individual award recipients included:

  • Kaitlyn Kraus, Marketing Specialist at TriComB2B, was named Young Professional of the Year.
  • Lisa Wagner, Executive Director of Friends of Levitt Pavilion Dayton, was named Newsmaker of the Year.
  • Elyse Coulter, Morning News Anchor at ABC 22/Fox 45, was named Media Friend of the Year.
  • Cathy Petersen, Director of Digital Marketing and Media Relations, Dayton Convention & Visitors Bureau, was named Communicator of the Year.


More information about the PRism Award Banquet and photos from this year’s event are available at Nominations for the 2020 PRism awards will open in January of 2020 via PRSA Dayton website.

PRism award winners included:

  • Cedarville University: Newsroom Expands Cedarville’s Media Reach
  • Community Blood Center: We Were Good Together
  • Dayton Children's Hospital: Dayton Children’s Hospital NBC News Coverage
  • Dayton Children's Hospital: Doctor’s Bio Video Campaign
  • Dayton Children's Hospital: Kent Wu Story
  • Dayton Children’s Hospital: Special Bond Between One Little Boy and Two Employees
  • Fahlgren Mortine: Huffy Rides Back Into the Spotlight
  • Fahlgren Mortine: Top States to Work in HVACR
  • Five Rivers MetroParks: Parkways Magazine: Growing Community in the Garden
  • myCUmortgage: 2018 myCUmortgage Partner Conference
  • myCUmortgage: 2018 myCUmortgage Internal Brand Launch
  • myCUmortgage: 2018 myCUmortgage Branding Initiative
  • Ohio's Hospice of Dayton: 40th Anniversary Special Publication
  • The Modern College of Design: New Brand Launch
  • The Dayton Foundation: 2017-18 Report to the Community “We are Changemakers”


Award of Merit winners included:

  • myCUmortgage: 2018 myCUmortgage Partner Hotwire
  • Community Blood Center: Anna Family Gives Blood, Gives Thanks
  • Fahlgren Mortine: Swisslog Industry 4.0 eBook
  • Five Rivers MetroParks: Get Out and Explore Campaign 


Special thank you to our sponsors:

  • Shook Construction
  • Montgomery County, Ohio
  • Kenny Consulting Group
  • Cox Media Group, Ohio
  • Nova Creative

About the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) Dayton Area Chapter

The PRSA Dayton Area Chapter consists of public relations professionals representing all facets of the industry, including corporate, non-profit, agency and independent practitioners. The chapter offers numerous benefits to its members including monthly meetings featuring local and national speakers addressing both strategic and tactical public relations topics. The Public Relations Society of America, headquartered in New York City, is the world's largest professional organization for public relations professionals, with nearly 20,000 members, organized into 117 Chapters nationwide, who represent business and industry, counseling firms, government, associations, hospitals, schools, professional services firms and nonprofit organizations.

Return to list


    Leave a Comment